2015 Annual Meeting and Courses, February 3-9, 2015, Houston, Texas

2015 Annual Meeting and Courses

The American Clinical Neurophysiology Society (ACNS) 2015 Annual Meeting & Courses was held on February 3-8, 2015 at the JW Marriott Houston in Houston, Texas. A record-setting total of 459 delegates were in attendance.

Highlights of the 2015 programs included the return of popular past sessions, including the “New Directions in Sleep” course, as well as the introduction of new educational formats, particularly four symposia planned in conjunction with representatives from the Brazilian Society of Clinical Neurophysiology, the Mexican Society of Clinical Neurophysiology, Latin American Chapter of IFCN and the Canadian Society of Clinical Neurophysiologists.

ACNS welcomed two special guests, New York Times best-selling author Susannah Cahalan and her treating physician Dr. Souhel Najjar, who presented first a personal then a clinical account of her battle with anti-NMDA receptor encephalitis, which had been chronicled in Ms. Cahalan’s auto-biography, Brain on Fire.

Brain on Fire author Susannah Cahalan and her treating physician Dr. Souhel Najjar provide the ACNS audience with a bit of “edu-tainment,” first a personal then a clinical account of her battle with anti-NMDA receptor encephalitis.

The 2015 Award Recipients were:

John Ebersole, MD, FACNS - Herbert H. Jasper Award
A Personal Perspective on 50 Years of Clinical Neurophysiology

ACNS President Dr. Aatif M Husain presents Dr. John Ebersole with the 2015 Herbert H. Jasper Award. The Jasper Award is presented annually for a lifetime of outstanding contributions to the field of clinical neurophysiology including research, teaching and mentoring.

Hiroshi Shibasaki, MD, PhD, FACNS - Pierre Gloor Award
Cortical Activities Associated with Voluntary and Involuntary Movements

Dr. Mark Hallett presents the 2015 Pierre Gloor Award to Dr. Hiroshi Shibasaki, recognizing his outstanding contributions to central clinical neurophysiology research.

Mamede de Carvalho, MD - Robert S. Schwab Award
Fasciculation Potentials: The Enigma

Dr. Mamede de Carvalho receives the Robert S. Schwab Award from ACNS Past President Dr. Frank Drislane. The Schwab Award is presented annual to recognize outstanding contributions to peripheral clinical neurophysiology research.

The success of the Annual Meeting & Courses was in large part due to the efforts of the organization of the Program, Course and Continuing Medical Education Committees. The Course Committee chair, Tobias Loddenkemper, MD, FACNS worked closely with the Course directors to ensure the Annual Courses highlighted growth areas of clinical neurophysiology. Program Committee Co-chairs, William O. Tatum, IV, DO, FACNS and Jaime R. Lopez, MD, FACNS organized the Annual Meeting to provide lectures covering the latest scientific advances in clinical neurophysiology. ACNS would also like to thank the number of session and course directors and speakers for their support and dedication to the Annual Meeting & Courses.

Lastly, ACNS would like to extend its appreciation to the 2015 Annual Meeting & Courses supporters:

ABCN/ABRET Cyberonics Nihon Kohden America
Ad-Tech Medical Instrument Electrical Geodesics, INC (EGI) Persyst Development
Ambry Genetics Elekta Neuromag PMT Corporation
ABPN Ives EEG Solutions Rhythmlink International, LLC
ACMEGS MOBE, LLC Rochester Electro-Medical, Inc.
ASET Moberg Research Signal Gear, LLC
Blackrock Neuromed Natus Neurology SpecialtyCare
Cadwell Laboratories Neuralynx Sunovion
Compumedics USA Neurotech UCB
Cotech Solutions   Wolters Kluwer Health


Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.